The Lower Palace

Reuß territory was divided into Upper and Lower Greiz in 1564, due to changes in the line of succession.  The new Renaissance palace was constructed in the center of the town for the Lower Greiz line.  After many expansions, the residence alternately was called the "New Palace," the "New Castle," and the "Lower Palace."  In 1786, the Younger Greiz Line died out.  A new lineage, the " Reuß Elder Line" had emerged and, in 1778, was raised to a principality, at which time the new prince chose the Lower Palace as his residence.

The devastating city fire of April 6, 1802, did not spare the Lower PalaceReconstruction, in a strict classical style, was completed in 1809.  Valuable ornamental plasterwork adorns the public rooms, including the ballroom, which is the masterpiece -- today the "White Ballroom."  The final expansion of 1884/1885 added the onion dome and the south wing, containing public rooms.  The last Greiz prince, Henry XXIV,  retained the right to reside in the Lower Palace until his death in 1927.

The Local History Museum has been located in rooms of the palace since 1929, and today's visitors can enjoy the restored public rooms and the changing exhibits about numerous topics. 

On September 13, 1998, the museum opened a new permanent exhibit – the“ Greiz Textile Studio – From Artisanry to Industry“-- in a side wing of the Lower Palace, commemorating Greiz's history as a textile manufacturing center. 

The city's "Greiz-Information" tourist bureau, the "Bernhard Stavenhagen" music school, and the Palace Café "LebensArt" occupy other palace areas.

 



Museums of the Palace and Residence City of Greiz

Burgplatz 12/ Unteres Schloss
07973 Greiz

+49 (3 66 1) 70 34 10
+49 (3 66 1) 70 34 20
museum(at)greiz.de
www.greiz.de

The Museum and the exhibit "The Greiz Textil Studio" are open daily, except Mondays, from 10.00 a.m. until 17.00 p.m.

Seitenanfang